logo SRCA

What is SRCA?


In recent years, there has been tremendous growth in research on cerebellar functions. The cerebellum is recognized as a unique and key-structure in the central nervous system, containing more neurons than all the other regions of the brain.

SRCA offers an essential link to improve and intensify this knowledge, supporting and promoting basic research in the neuroscience of the cerebellum.

The society will promote education. SRCA is strongly committed to its mission.

Executive Committee

Jean Mariani President: Jean Mariani

Jean Mariani MD, PhD, is Professor of Neuroscience and Aging Biology at Pierre & Marie Curie University, and hospital practitioner at Charles Foix hospital. His work is focussed on the late stages of development of the cerebellum (synase elimination and repair, neuronal death), its aging and certain neurodegenerative pathologies.

Marco Molinari Vice-President: Marco Molinari

Marco Molinari MD PhD is Director of Translational Research at Fondazione Santa Lucia IRCCS Rome Italy. Since the 80’ he has been involved in cerebello-cerebral interactions research addressing cerebellar role in cognition and cortical processing in animal models as well as in clinical studies.

Dr. Timothy Ebner Scientific Chair: Timothy Ebner

Dr. Timothy Ebner, M.D./Ph.D. is professor and Head of the Department of Neuroscience at the University of Minnesota. He presently holds the Max E. and Mary LaDue Pickworth Endowed Chair in Neuroscience. Dr. Ebner has published extensively on how information is represented spatially and temporally in populations of neurons in the cerebellum and motor cortex using electrophysiology and optical imaging techniques.

Prof. Nori Koibuchi Secretary: Nori Koibuchi

Prof. Nori Koibuchi, MD, PhD, is Professor and Director of the Department of Integrative Physiology at Gunma University (Japan). His major fields of research are neuroendocrinology, neurotoxicology and developmental Neuroscience.

Esther Becker Adjunct Secretary: Esther Becker

Esther Becker is Associate Professor of Neurobiology at the University of Oxford. Her lab is interested in the genetic and molecular mechanisms that regulate the development of the cerebellum and that, when disturbed, result in cerebellar disorders.

Jeremy D. Schmahmann Treasurer: Jeremy D. Schmahmann

Jeremy D. Schmahmann, MD is Professor of Neurology at Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital where he is the Founding Director of the Ataxia Unit, Director of the Laboratory for Neuroanatomy and Cerebellar Neurobiology, and a member of the Cognitive Behavioral Neurology Unit. Dr. Schmahmann’s research program explores the anatomical substrates of intellect and emotion with a particular focus on the ataxias and other cerebellar disorders.

Prof. Mario Manto Editor of The Cerebellum: Mario Manto

Prof. Mario Manto, MD, PhD, is neurologist at ULB-Erasme (Brussels, Belgium) and permanent researcher at the FNRS-Belgium. He is associate professor at the University of Mons, Belgium. He focuses his research on cerebellar disorders in human and in animals.

International Delegates

Copyright © 2024 Semico nvPowered by Mintyfresh Software Architects